« Orrin Woodward's Team in News | Main | The Pissing Match »

March 7, 2006

Die Mike Furir

By QBlog in Blog NewsBlog News

There seems to be an aggressive comment spam campaign hitting lots of blogs right now. My Wordpress blog is getting slammed and of course this one (running Movable Type) is under attack. The name used in each comment is Mike Furir followed by some random number. I'm not sure how this spam is dodging my spam filter but it is and it's really annoying.

Maybe it's time to switch on the authentication?

UPDATE: I won't be implementing authentication right now but it looks like I'm not the only person being attacked by "Mike Furir." Check out the Google results for "Mike Furir". That's some spam baby.

UPDATE II: Jake Ludington hates Mike Furir too. Die Mike Die!

UPDATE III: Not sure if this helps anything but here's a sample comment from Mike Furir.

name:Mike Furir 80
email: test@t26test.com
url: http://t26est.com

comment: Mike Furir Mike 26

UPDATE IV: I just discovered that I can control Mike Furir spam in Movable Type 3.2 by going to settings/plugins and then SpamLookup - Keyword Filter "Show Settings." Cool!

Other Sites That Hate Mike Furir

Comments (10) TrackBack (1)

Comments  

"Authentification," like "duplicatable," isn't really a word.

He didn't use the word "authentification". Besides, we make up new words in the English language every year, mayor.

I did use the wrong word. However, I can go back and make corrections, which is exactly what I did.

Thanks for the catch Mayor.

For a change, i'm with Tex. Language is fluid and evolving. In any case, from dictionary.com -

duplicatable
adj : capable of being duplicated [syn: duplicable]
Source: WordNet ® 2.0, © 2003 Princeton University

It appears we are having a similar annoyance. I posted Mike Furir Sucks last night. :) Whoever is behind the spam isn't even doing it right because the domain being promoted doesn't appear as the top result for the name search on Google, MSN or Yahoo.

I've been slammed by the mikefurir spook as well. At first, I thought it was some spammer's way of making sure that domain would be blacklisted (similar to the spate of spam which listed sites such as sony.com and google.com, for instance). It's probably some narcissistic goober who delights on seeing his name all over the web. I bet he sends himself flowers at work, too.

Getting plenty of it here, too...and the domain name doesn't even exist. WHOIS returns no record, you could register the domain today if you wanted to (as if anyone would want to). I've been getting slammed by this idiot on and off for over two months now.

CORRECTION TO ABOVE, it now appears that the domain name has been registered. Now I'm starting to see a method in the madness, perhaps.

Whatever. MT-Blacklist tosses it to the trash quite handily.

someone could help me too? this spammer sucks. my email cdshikida at gmail dot com.

any help would be welcome. This Movable Type seems to be sensitive to this spam.

Hi, I just got hit w/ >200 comments this week. Does anyone know how you get MT-blacklist to block anything with "mike furir" in it?

I am using MT v2.661 and MT-Blacklist v1.6.5. I'm not sure if it will work w/ the older version but I'm too lazy to upgrade to MT3.





Post a comment

Comment notes: Some html is allowed (b, p, strong, em, ul, li, blockquote). Email addresses are not displayed. Avoid using profanity. Some comments may automatically end up in a “pending queue,” so be patient.

Vigorous discussion and opposing viewpoints are welcome, but please keep comments *on-topic* and *civil*. Comments containing flames, trolls, or personal attacks are discouraged and may be deleted. If you don't know what this means, please choose not to participate. Thanks.



Subscribe to this entry?